As Django Unchains a Debate is Unleashed

Django Unchained starring Jamie Foxx, Kerry Washington, and Leonardo DiCaprio.

I watched some of Kill Bill with my mom some years ago but I never finished watching it. I borrowed Pulp Fiction from a friend, but I never got around to watching it. I almost rented Inglorious Basterds from Redbox, but then picked something else in its place. Suffice it to say, I’ve never had a strong desire to become acquainted with Tarantino’s work. Even though I’m not familiar with his work, I am aware of the criticisms that often accompany his movies. Among these critics, Spike Lee (who has recently said he won’t even watch Django because he feels it’s disrespectful to his ancestors) has long had a problem with the way Tarantino handles race. Despite not feeling inclined to see a Tarantino movie in the past, after reading many of the reviews and seeing the debate an criticisms the movie spawned, I decided I wanted to go see Django Unchained for myself.

Some of the most reoccurring criticisms of the film have been Tarantino’s on-going fascination with and gratuitous use of the n-word, the high levels of viscera and gore, the lack of agency and resistance among black characters, and historical inaccuracies.

The n-word debate is an ongoing — and, in my humble opinion, futile — debate that I’m not particularly interested in engaging with. As for the gore and high levels of violence, though I grimaced, cringed, and watched some scenes through the spaces between my fingers as I covered my face, I felt it was important to capture just how obscene and brutal the violence was during slavery.

Continue Reading at Red Wedge Magazine.

Leave a Reply

